EPIC Project Team


Dan Spaite, MD, EPIC Co-Director
Dan Spaite, MD, FACEP
EPIC Co-Director

Dr. Daniel Spaite is a tenured professor and holds the Distinguished Chair of Emergency Medicine at the University of Arizona College of Medicine. He is a board certified emergency physician and has been an EMS Medical Director for multiple fire departments and air medical transport programs over the last 25 years. He is the Director of EMS Research at the Arizona Emergency Medicine Research Center. Dr. Spaite has published more than 100 scientific articles and has presented his research on EMS, cardiac arrest, trauma systems, EMS outcomes analysis and EMS cost analysis at scores of conferences internationally. In 2010, he was awarded the Ronald Stewart, MD Career Award by the National Association of EMS Physicians. It is the highest honor awarded by NAEMSP and is given for "outstanding contributions in prehospital care and the development of quality EMS throughout the world."

Dr. Spaite has been the Principal Investigator or a Co-Investigator for many key efforts related to the evaluation of EMS systems: The Ontario Prehospital ALS Study (OPALS), the NIH-funded EPIC Prehospital Traumatic Brain Injury Study, the RAMPART prehospital status epilepticus trial, the EMS Agenda for the Future, the NHTSA Uniform Data Consensus Conference, the EMS Research Agenda, the EMS Outcomes Project (EMSOP), the EMS Cost Analysis Project (EMSCAP), and the NHTSA-sponsored development of a national model for Evidence-Based Guidelines in EMS.

Ben Bobrow, MD, EPIC Co-Director
Ben Bobrow, MD, FACEP
EPIC Co-Director

Dr. Ben Bobrow is an Professor of Emergency Medicine at the University of Arizona College of Medicine - Phoenix Campus and practices at Maricopa Medical Center in Phoenix, Arizona.  His focus is on improving outcomes from time-sensitive emergency medical conditions such as out-of-hospital cardiac arrest and traumatic brain injury. He has partnered with public health officials, EMS agencies, municipal fire departments, hospitals, university researchers and the public to develop a statewide reporting and educational network for responding to out-of-hospital cardiac arrest. This system of care has resulted in a significant increase in the rates of bystander CPR and a tripling of survival from sudden cardiac arrest in Arizona. (www.azshare.gov). 

Dr. Bobrow is the Medical Director for the Bureau of Emergency Medical Services and Trauma System at the Arizona Department of Health Services and the current Chair of the American Heart Association Basic Life Support Subcommittee. He is a member of the Arizona Emergency Medicine Research Center and the Sarver Heart Center at the University of Arizona and Co-Investigator for the NIH-funded EPIC Prehospital Traumatic Brain Injury Study.



David Adelson, MD, FACS, FAPP
Kurt Denninghoff, MD
Josh Gaither, MD
Terry Mullins, MBA
Jason Roosa, MD
Duane Sherrill, PhD
Chad Viscusi, MD

ADHS Partners

Terry Mullins, MBA
Odalys Colon-Rentas, MA
David James Harden, JD, NREMT
Anita Ray Ng
Anne Vossbrink, MS

Data Management

Karen Rogge-Miller
Applications Systems Analyst/Developer Senior

Mike Sotelo
Data Manager/Consultant

Cerét Clark
Research Specialist

Shelley Bissell
Data Coordinator

Uwe Stolz, PhD, MPH
Statistician / Epidemiologist

Vatsal Chikani, MPH
Statistician / Epidemiologist

Training, Education & Implementation

Bruce Barnhart, RN, CEP
EMS Education Project Manager

John Tobin, CEP
EMS Educator

Willie Haro, CEP
EMS Educator

Jenn Atchley, RN, CEP
EMS Educator

Robyn McDannold
Research Coordinator

Kirstin Lathrop
Assistant Research Coordinator

Rachel Langhofer
Research Accountant

EPIC Student Educators:

Christian Dameff
Aaron Dunham
Ryan Murphy
Jeff Tully